Home Care RecoveryContracts
Home Healthcare Insurance · Reviewed October 4, 2026

Compare Coverage For
Care At Home.

Nine carrier groups, their benefit limits, and the details that matter when someone you love needs help recovering.

9 carrier groupsCompare benefits in one place
Family & friendsUnderstand informal-care benefits
180-day rulesSee how benefit restoration differs
Prescription Drug Cash Back

How certain short-term home care prescription drug “cash back” benefits can offset your insurance premiums

Eligible prescription cash benefits can put money back in your budget, reducing the effective out-of-pocket cost of your home care plan. You still pay the full insurance premium; benefits are paid separately after eligible claims. Your actual offset depends on prescriptions filled, the policy’s payment schedule and its annual maximum.

See how it works

Watch on Vimeo

Video provided by Mel Gambrell. The example beside it independently illustrates the annual calculation and its monthly equivalent using the carrier’s published prescription schedule; it is not a quotation or transcription of the video.

Illustrative GTL Plan B example

Annual savings, monthly perspective

Assume a $60 monthly premium, three eligible generic fills and one eligible brand-name fill each month. At $10 per generic and $25 per brand, the uncapped cash benefit is $55/month, or $660/year. Plan B’s $600 policy-year maximum limits the annual benefit to $600.

CalculationAnnualMonthly equivalent
Premium paid$720$60
Prescription cash back, after cap$600$50
Effective cost after cash back$120$10

In this illustration, prescription cash back offsets 83.3% of the premium. The $60 premium is an assumed example, not a quote.

GTL schedule: $10 generic / $25 brand; Plan B annual maximum $600. Carrier details · Brochure

Monthly equivalent = annual benefit ÷ 12.

This spreads the annual total over 12 months for comparison. It is not a guaranteed monthly payment or monthly allowance. Claim timing and annual-limit exhaustion can change payments month to month. If qualifying benefits equal or exceed annual premiums, they can offset the full premium cost; benefits and that result are never guaranteed. With no eligible prescriptions, there is no prescription cash-back offset.

General formula: annual premium = monthly premium × 12; annual eligible cash back = the lesser of qualifying prescription payments and the policy-year Rx maximum; effective annual cost = annual premium − cash back; monthly equivalent = effective annual cost ÷ 12. Compare matching policy-year periods. Follow the actual policy’s refill and supply rules; do not multiply a 90-day fill as though it were filled monthly.

So Who needs a Home Care Short Term Plan?

Are You Age 18-89

If you're in this age bracket a home care short-term plan is right for you!

Misconception: Home Care Short-term plans are for 65 and older persons!

FALSE!

Cancer doesn't care how old you are and it doesn't care if you're a Man, Woman, or Child!

Let's see what else.....
A bad car accident or any accident, Heart attack, stroke. Too many things to list that would leave you in need of recovery care.

Receive up to $700 per day 365 days/ $255,000 - year, when recovering at home due to sickness or injury. Ask us to find out how.

Home Care: The Hidden Cost of Caring

Care for the ones you love. Plan for the costs.

When a loved one needs care, the financial impact can reach the entire family—from covering out-of-pocket expenses like transportation, home modifications and medical equipment, cutting back on work hours to make time for caregiving duties, dipping into savings to make ends meet or all of the above.

What can caregiving cost your family?

Start Your Home Care Planning Conversation

Explore home care coverage options and resources for financial assistance, tax benefits and respite care.

Caregiver resources: aarp.org/caregiving. Sources: Caregiving in the U.S. 2025 (AARP/NAC); AARP Caregiving Out-of-Pocket Costs (2021). Educational information only. Coverages and availability, eligibility and benefits vary by policy and state. Not affiliated with or endorsed by AARP.

A comparison of daily benefits & plan limits

Carriers appear in the requested order: MedMutual, Heartland, Aetna, ManhattanLife, GTL, Bankers Fidelity Vantage, Wellabe/Medico, Standard Guardian Care Plus, and Cigna/HealthSpring. MedMutual has two unit options; Aetna has two distinct products with weekly home-care limits. Other products have fixed tiers or selectable periods. The Guardian Care Plus source lists only two plans.

CarrierPlan / optionHome-care daily / weekly capAide daily benefitCovered days / weeksAnnual Benefit MaxAnnual Rx maxIssue agesSource
MedMutual Protect HHC-6Standard · 1 unit$250$50 / 150 days360$90,000$30019–85Details
MedMutual Protect HHC-6Deluxe · 2 units$500$100 / 150 days360$180,000$60019–85Details
Heartland Secure ChoiceBasic$200$80 / 120 days360$72,000$36040–85[6]
Heartland Secure ChoiceStandard$400$160 / 120 days360$144,000$72040–85[6]
Heartland Secure ChoiceComplete$600$240 / 120 days360$216,000$72040–85[6]
Aetna / Continental LifeHome Care Plus (NC)Up to $1,500/week; not a daily capAgency practitioner; no family13 / 26 / 39 / 52 weeksUp to $78,000 / 52 weeksNot listed50–89Details
Aetna / Continental LifeRecovery Care Choice + Home Care rider (NC)Up to $2,100/week; not a daily cap25% weekly benefit for family/friends13 / 26 / 39 / 52 weeksUp to $109,200 / 52 weeks$30040–89Details
ManhattanLife EnhancedClassic$150$50365$54,750$30018–89[3]
ManhattanLife EnhancedPremier$300$100365$109,500$60018–89[3]
ManhattanLife EnhancedDeluxe$450$150365$164,250$90018–89[3]
GTLPlan A$150$50360$54,000$30055–85*[2]
GTLPlan B$300$100360$108,000$60055–85*[2]
GTLPlan C$450$150360$162,000$90055–85*[2]
Bankers Fidelity Vantage Recovery90-day option$30–$300§Licensed agency care§90$2,700–$27,000§Not listed18–85[11]
Bankers Fidelity Vantage Recovery180-day option$30–$300§Licensed agency care§180$5,400–$54,000§Not listed18–85[11]
Bankers Fidelity Vantage Recovery270-day option$30–$300§Licensed agency care§270$8,100–$81,000§Not listed18–85[11]
Bankers Fidelity Vantage Recovery360-day option$30–$300§Licensed agency care§360$10,800–$108,000§Not listed18–85[11]
Wellabe / MedicoEssential Care PlusUp to $300Full daily benefitUp to 360Up to $108,000Not listed40–89[9]
Wellabe / MedicoEssential CareUp to $150Full daily benefitUp to 360Up to $54,000Not listed40–89[9]
Wellabe / MedicoLimited Benefit RiderUp to $100‡Graded benefitUp to 180Up to $18,000‡Not listed40–89[9]
Standard Guardian Care PlusClassic$150$40†Not statedNot calculable$300Not stated[7]
Standard Guardian Care PlusDeluxe$300$80†Not statedNot calculable$600Not stated[7]
Cigna / HealthSpringChoice 100$50; booster $100Agency care; transition up to 10 days180 or 360$9,000–$18,000; booster up to $36,000Not listed18–89Details
Cigna / HealthSpringChoice 200$100; booster $200Agency care; transition up to 10 days180 or 360$18,000–$36,000; booster up to $72,000Not listed18–89Details
Cigna / HealthSpringChoice 300$150; booster $300Agency care; transition up to 10 days180 or 360$27,000–$54,000; booster up to $108,000Not listed18–89Details

Scroll the table horizontally on smaller screens. Dollar amounts are benefit limits, not premiums or guaranteed claim payments.

¹ A benefit-period ceiling is not an annual payout promise.

Calculated ceilings multiply the daily cap by the maximum covered days, before service sublimits, eligibility, elimination periods and other policy restrictions. They are illustrations of the home-care benefit alone; they exclude prescriptions, caregiver payments and riders. Benefits do not automatically restart every January. Aetna uses weekly caps: ceilings use weekly benefit × covered weeks. MedMutual and HealthSpring figures are benefit-period ceilings as well; facility pools are excluded from the home-care comparison.

* GTL’s current state listings commonly show 55–85; confirm your state and product version [1]. Idaho’s GTL period is 280 days [2]. ManhattanLife periods may vary [3]. Heartland dollar figures are from its Illinois brochure [6], not a nationwide guarantee. † Guardian Care Plus aide care follows a hospital confinement of at least three days; ages and maximum days are absent from the supplied legacy brochure [7]. ‡ Wellabe’s Limited Benefit Rider is graded in its first two years, has a 90-day elimination period, and requires a qualifying co-applicant; $18,000 is the ungraded ceiling, not a first-year promise [9,10]. Idaho Wellabe coverage is up to 270 days [10]. § Bankers Fidelity home care requires its optional Home Healthcare rider. Its brochure describes actual-charge reimbursement up to the selected daily benefit. Verify the rider’s schedule and whether limits are shared with facility care [11].

Specified Disease Section

A specialized plan such as MedMutual’s one-of-a-kind Specified Disease Plan can be the perfect combination with any of the above Short Term Care Home Recovery Plans, including a nice complement to your group health insurance, private health insurance or ACA health insurance plan!

MedMutual Specified Disease · SD-3

A separate supplemental policy for eligible expenses caused by a covered specified disease, rather than a daily home-care allowance or a diagnosis-only cash lump sum. The selected plan’s deductible and reimbursement percentage apply to covered expenses.

DeductibleCovered-expense percentageCalendar-year maximumWellness
$0100%$10,000Not included
$0100%$25,000Not included
$50080%$1,000,000Included where available
$1,00050%$1,000,000Not included; $15,000 maximum out-of-pocket shown
$2,50080%$1,000,000Included where available
$5,000100%$1,000,000Included where available

June 2026 training schedule; state variants differ. Iowa/Utah show $250 deductible alternatives with 80% or 50% benefits and different out-of-pocket limits. Eligible wellness is up to $200/calendar year after 90 days, unavailable in Colorado, Illinois and Michigan in the listed schedule. The training describes a $5 million lifetime ceiling for inpatient/outpatient benefits; confirm how it applies to the selected plan.

Treatment categories include inpatient hospital services, surgery, ICU, anesthesia, prostheses and physician care, plus outpatient surgery/anesthesia, physical therapy, ambulance, office visits, X-rays/labs and qualifying ER/urgent care. An optional Cancer First Occurrence benefit offers $25,000 or $50,000 once per lifetime after a qualifying first diagnosis.

All 20 covered specified diseases

Policy definitions, eligible expenses and state-approved terms apply.

MedMutual Specified Disease details

Aetna · Home Care Plus & Recovery Care Choice

Home Care Plus · North Carolina

Issue ages 50–89. Weekly home care up to $1,500 for 13, 26, 39 or 52 weeks; 0- or 20-day waiting period. Lifetime covered weeks are twice the selected period. At the maximum, 52 weeks × $1,500 = $78,000 per period, not $1,500 per day.

Requires medically necessary care by eligible agency practitioners, three visits per week, each at least one hour on separate days. Family members are excluded from the practitioner definition. A home-care period ends after 180 continuous days without services; lifetime limits remain.

Required daily hospital component: up to $400/day, 20 days per period of care, 365 days lifetime. Hospital observation stays are included subject to the confinement definition. No Rx cash benefit is listed.

Optional cancer rider: $2,500/$5,000/$10,000 once per lifetime. Optional ER/ambulance rider: $200, twice per calendar year. Home Care Plus PDF

Recovery Care Choice · North Carolina

Issue ages 40–89. Nursing/assisted living facility core: up to $700/day for 90, 180, 270 or 360 days, with 0/20/100-day elimination. Lifetime maximum: twice selected days. Memory care is included. Maximum 360-day facility ceiling: $252,000.

Home Care rider: up to $2,100/week for 13/26/39/52 weeks; 0/20-day elimination; lifetime twice selected weeks. Maximum home-care ceiling: $109,200 for 52 weeks. Family/friends may receive 25% of the weekly benefit for their care—up to $525/week at the maximum selection.

Eligibility requires documented inability to perform two or more ADLs or cognitive impairment. Base Rx: $10 generic/$25 brand, $300 annually. Bed reservation and Medicare Part B excess-charge benefits are included.

Riders: adult day care ($50/$100/$150, 30 visits/year); home modification ($2,500 lifetime); inflation (3%/5%, simple/compound, facility benefit only); mental health ($25–$100, 20 visits/year); outpatient rehab ($50/$100/$150, 15/30 visits/year); ambulance ($200/$400/$600, four/year); pet boarding ($50/$75/$100, 30 days/period while in nursing care); hospital confinement up to $700/day for 3–10 or 20 days, 365 lifetime.

Hospital rider includes an observation-unit benefit for stays under 24 hours at 50% of the selected daily amount, once per period. Continuous observation of at least 24 hours meets the stated confinement definition. Recovery Care Choice PDF

These supplied Aetna/Continental Life examples are North Carolina forms, not nationwide guarantees. Recovery Care Choice’s nursing-facility period ends only after 180 days without confinement, ability to perform at least five ADLs without hands-on help, and no cognitive assistance/supervision requirement. This is not merely 180 days without filing claims; home-rider restoration documentation should be checked separately. Recovery Care Choice excludes pre-existing conditions during the first 12 months under its defined lookback rules. Home Care Plus has its own exclusions and pre-existing-condition provisions. Neither product substitutes for comprehensive health or long-term care insurance.

What does the daily maximum really mean?

A $450 daily cap does not mean $450 is paid for a single aide visit. GTL and ManhattanLife use service-specific schedules within an aggregate daily ceiling. Wellabe describes a full daily cash benefit for qualifying care, while Bankers Fidelity describes reimbursement of actual charges up to a limit.

MedMutual · Standard / Deluxe

RN $100/$200; other listed professional services $75/$150 each; combined daily cap $250/$500. Aide $50/$100 for 150 days. Details

Aetna · Weekly benefits

Home Care Plus: up to $1,500/week after three qualifying visits. Recovery Care Choice Home Care rider: up to $2,100/week with its own ADL/cognitive trigger. Do not read these weekly limits as daily amounts. Details

ManhattanLife: Classic / Premier / Deluxe

Nursing and physical, speech or occupational therapy: $75 / $150 / $200. Chemotherapy: $60 / $120 / $200. Enterostomal and respiratory therapy: $50 / $100 / $200. Social worker: $100 / $200 / $300. Aide: $50 / $100 / $150. [4]

GTL: A / B / C

RN and physical, speech or occupational therapy: $75 / $150 / $200. LPN and chemotherapy: $60 / $120 / $200. Enterostomal and respiratory therapy: $50 / $100 / $200. Medical social services: $100 / $200 / $300. Aide: $50 / $100 / $150, within the daily cap. [2]

Match benefits to the care needed

Compare the aide allowance if bathing, dressing and daily assistance are your priority. Compare skilled service schedules if nursing or rehabilitation is the concern. Ask whether multiple services on one day share a cap and whether homemaker payments reduce other benefits.

MedMutual Standard & Deluxe · full home-care schedule

HHC-6 is issued by Reserve National Insurance Company. Standard is one unit; Deluxe is two. Benefits are fixed indemnity amounts paid to the insured unless directed otherwise, including when other private or government insurance pays. Issue ages: 19–85; no medical exam, with application eligibility restrictions.

BenefitStandard · 1 unitDeluxe · 2 units
Aggregate professional home-care daily cap$250$500
Skilled nursing (RN) per day$100$200
LPN, physical/occupational/speech therapy, chemotherapy specialist, enterostomal/respiratory therapy and medical social services per day$75 each$150 each
Professional care period / calculated cap360 days / $90,000360 days / $180,000
Aide benefit / maximum period$50/day; 150 days; $7,500$100/day; 150 days; $15,000
Prescription benefit$25/fill; $300 per policy year$25/fill; $600 per policy year
Home medical equipment$600 per policy year$1,200 per policy year
Adult day care$75/day; 90 days; $6,750$150/day; 90 days; $13,500
Home physician visits$75/day; four visits/year$150/day; four visits/year
Urgent care$75/visit; twice/year$150/visit; twice/year

Adult day care requires a physician recommendation and at least four continuous hours. Equipment must be purchased or rented within 30 days of qualifying care. Home physician, ER and urgent-care benefits also have links to recent home care. Service sublimits share the aggregate daily cap; $500 is not paid automatically for one visit.

Professional-care restoration requires sufficient recovery certified by a physician and 180 consecutive days without additional care. Aide benefits have a separate six-month service-free restoration rule; family members are not eligible aides. Home hospice has a 180-day lifetime limit with no restoration. MedMutual carrier information

Extra Benefit Rider

Annual physical: $100 after 12 months, once per 12 months. Vision after six months: $40/$80 exam every 12 months and $75/$150 lenses/frames every 24 months (one/two units). Hearing after 12 months: $50/$100 exam every 12 months and $250/$500 hearing aids every 24 months. Routine dental starts after six months and can be claimed every six months; confirm the selected schedule.

HHC-6 figures use the supplied training’s state-specific schedule. Its state listings differ internally; confirm current availability and policy form. The 360-day total is a benefit-period ceiling, not an automatic annual payment.

Prescription medication cash benefits

MedMutual Protect

$25 per eligible prescription for either unit level, regardless of prescription cost. Standard $300 / Deluxe $600 per policy year; two units double the annual cap, not the per-fill payment.

Heartland & Guardian Care Plus

Heartland Illinois: $15 generic / $30 brand, with Basic / Standard / Complete annual caps of $360 / $720 / $720. [6]

Guardian Care Plus: $10 generic / $25 brand; Classic $300 and Deluxe $600 per policy year. [7]

Aetna

Recovery Care Choice: $10 generic/$25 brand, $300/year. Home Care Plus: no Rx benefit listed in the supplied NC form. Details

ManhattanLife Enhanced

30-day supply: $10 generic / $25 brand. 90-day supply: $30 generic / $75 brand. Classic / Premier / Deluxe annual caps: $300 / $600 / $900. [3]

GTL

$10 generic / $25 brand per prescription; annual policy-year caps of $300 / $600 / $900 for A / B / C. The carrier says no waiting period and benefits can be paid even with no copay. [1][2]

Wellabe’s reviewed short-term care materials and Bankers Fidelity’s Vantage Recovery brochure do not list a prescription cash benefit. “Not listed” means unverified, not a confirmed exclusion. Prescription cash benefits are limited supplemental payments, not comprehensive drug insurance.

Cigna/HealthSpring: no prescription cash benefit is listed in the reviewed Choice plan.

Money for family & friend care

Caregiver support services, a caregiver lump sum and a daily homemaker benefit are different benefits. Receiving cash does not automatically make every family member an eligible paid caregiver.

MedMutual Protect

No dedicated family/friend payment program identified. An HHC-6 aide must be an approved practitioner and cannot be a family member.

Not verified in reviewed materials

Other original products

Heartland, Guardian Care Plus and Wellabe: no dedicated family-and-friend cash program identified in reviewed materials. Bankers Fidelity’s brochure specifies licensed-agency home care; informal family care is not established as covered. Ask for the current state policy definition rather than assuming cash benefits cover informal care.

Aetna

Recovery Care Choice Home Care rider: 25% of the selected weekly benefit for family/friend care. Home Care Plus excludes family members from the practitioner definition. Details

Daily homemaker benefit

ManhattanLife Enhanced

Unlicensed family, neighbor or friend care: Classic $25/day, Premier $50/day, Deluxe $75/day. Policy maximums: $4,000 / $5,000 / $6,000. Confirm qualifying tasks, claim documentation and how this benefit interacts with the aggregate cap. [3]

Lump sum + support

GTL · TCARE

$3,500 caregiver benefit after an approved home-health claim and TCARE registration/assessment. A family member or friend can qualify; payment can go to the insured or be assigned to the caregiver. Professional-care claims still require eligible licensed agency providers. [1][2]

Cigna/HealthSpring Care Transition pays the home-healthcare benefit for up to 10 days of care by a professional, family member, neighbor or friend while professional help is arranged.

Restoration after 180 days: read both conditions

Stopping claims is not the same as recovering.

Some wording requires that care is no longer needed—even if nobody submitted a claim. Certification for the initial claim and certification for restoration are separate questions.

ProductTime conditionRecovery / certification conditionWhat is established
MedMutual HHC-6180 days without additional home carePhysician certifies sufficient recoveryAide: separate six-month service-free rule; hospice never restores
Heartland180 consecutive days without covered home careLicensed practitioner certifies sufficient recovery and no further home/nursing care requirementExplicit requirement in Illinois brochure [6]
Aetna Home Care Plus180 continuous days without home careHome-care period definition does not separately state recovery certificationLifetime maximum twice selected weeks; confirm schedule
Aetna Recovery Care ChoiceFacility: 180 days without confinementAt least five ADLs independent; no cognitive assistance neededFacility period definition; confirm Home Care rider separately
ManhattanLife Enhanced180 consecutive days with benefits neither paid nor requiredSeparate recovery certificate not stated in brochure; care must not still be requiredRestores period and/or policy maximum; verify state contract documentation [3]
GTL180 consecutive days without covered home-health servicesWritten certification by a licensed healthcare practitioner that impairment has resolved sufficiently and home/nursing care is no longer neededExplicit certification requirement [1]
Bankers FidelitySix confinement-free months; home-care rider describes six treatment-free monthsPublic materials do not establish whether written recovery certification is necessaryState availability and outline govern; six months should not be assumed identical to 180 days [12]
Wellabe · Essential Care Plus180 consecutive days without careFull recovery from the condition is required; separate certificate requirement not resolved by brochureOne-time restoration; do not extend it to Essential Care or Limited Benefit Rider [10]
Standard Guardian Care Plus180 consecutive days with benefits neither paid nor requiredSeparate recovery certificate not stated in supplied brochureHome-health and aide periods restore; current sale status and state form unverified [7]
Cigna / HealthSpring180 daysRecovery plus no care needed/receivedOnce per policy lifetime for each home/facility pool; separate physician-certificate requirement is not resolved by the consumer summary

No reviewed source justifies labeling a plan “180 days without collecting benefits, regardless of continued care needs.” ManhattanLife and Guardian Care Plus use a “not paid or required” condition. Wellabe requires full recovery. Bankers Fidelity’s certificate rules remain unverified.

To settle a specific purchase, obtain the current policy and rider for the applicant’s state. Ask: must I recover; who certifies recovery; does unpaid family care interrupt the period; how many restorations are allowed; and does a lifetime maximum remain?

Hospital observation stays

Hospital observation is outpatient status, even when you stay overnight. A home-care benefit and a hospital-stay benefit are separate. A brochure’s “24-hour confinement” wording alone does not establish that observation is covered.

ProductHospital benefit in reviewed productObservation finding
MedMutual HHC-6ER/urgent benefits, not a hospitalization rider in supplied trainingNo direct observation-stay benefit established
HeartlandOptional confinement rider; 24-hour minimumNot explicitly established in HHC brochure [6]
Aetna Home Care PlusRequired hospital benefit up to $400/dayObservation included subject to confinement definition
Aetna Recovery Care ChoiceOptional hospital rider up to $700/dayUnder 24h observation: 50% daily rider amount once/period; 24h+ observation meets confinement definition
ManhattanLife EnhancedNo hospital confinement rider listedNo observation benefit listed [3]
GTLOptional accident/sickness hospitalization rider; 24-hour minimum in brochureNot explicitly established; verify rider definition [2]
Bankers FidelityFacility base policy plus optional home-care/cancer ridersNo observation payment listed in Vantage Recovery [11]
WellabeNo direct observation payment listed; facility rider includes bed reservationBed reservation is not a hospital observation benefit [8]
Standard Guardian Care PlusNo hospital indemnity rider listed; aide benefit has prior-hospitalization conditionObservation counting toward that condition is unverified [7]
Cigna / HealthSpringFacility bed reservationFacility bed reservation may pay for up to 20 days while hospitalized or in observation; this is not a standalone hospital observation payment

Observation benefits offered by a carrier’s separate hospital indemnity product must not be attributed to its home-care policy. Confirm the exact product and rider before relying on observation coverage.

Optional riders, carrier by carrier

MedMutual Protect

Extra Benefit Rider: physical, vision, hearing and dental; timing and dollar schedules above. Specified Disease is separate coverage, not a home-care rider. Details

Heartland Secure Choice

Current page lists hospital confinement up to $300/day for 3, 6 or 10 days; ambulance up to $500; severe accident/accidental death; and up to 90 additional aide days. The older Illinois brochure offers 60 additional aide days. Use current state rider terms to resolve that difference. [5][6]

Aetna / Continental Life

Compare the two products’ different cancer, ER/ambulance, home care, hospital, inflation and care-support riders. All Aetna rider details

ManhattanLife Enhanced

Annual physical: $150 after a 12-month waiting period. AD&D: $10,000 lifetime maximum. Equipment: $100/piece, $500 lifetime. Accident expense: $1,250 or $2,500 maximum per accident; $10,000 lifetime. Ambulance: $200 one-way trip, four annually; $2,500 lifetime. Review injury schedules and rider forms. [3]

GTL

Hospitalization: $100–$450/day, with 3-, 6- or 10-day choices; ages 75+ have narrower options. Ambulance: $200/trip, four yearly, $2,500 lifetime. Dental/vision: up to $400 / $800 / $1,200 annually after the first year. Critical accident and return of premium at death are also offered. State restrictions apply. [2]

Bankers Fidelity · Vantage Recovery

Home Healthcare rider adds licensed-agency home care to the nursing-facility policy. Cancer First Occurrence rider pays a qualifying diagnosis lump sum after 30 days; specified noninvasive cancers and most skin cancers are excluded. Obtain the rider schedule for dollar selections and lifetime limits. [11]

Wellabe / Medico

Nursing facility care: up to $500/day for up to 360 additional days, including 21-day bed reservation. Inflation: 5% of the original daily benefit added annually. Adult day care: $50/visit, up to 20 visits. Return of premium on termination: 25% after 10 years, 35% after 15, 50% after 20, minus claims paid. State differences apply. [8]

Standard Life & Casualty · Guardian Care Plus

The supplied legacy brochure lists an Extra Benefits Rider: $150 annual physical after 12 months, $10,000 accidental death with a separate dismemberment schedule, and up to $500 home medical equipment per maximum benefit period. Current availability is unverified. [7]

Cigna / HealthSpring

Home Care Booster doubles the selected home-healthcare daily benefit. Inflation Protection adds 5% simple annual increases. Facility and home-care benefit pools are separate; eligibility requires two ADL limitations or cognitive impairment and an approved plan of care.

Why plan for care at home?

Medicare-age clients

Know where Medicare stops

Medicare covers eligible intermittent skilled care for homebound patients, with provider certification and an approved agency. Covered home-health services cost $0; covered equipment generally has 20% coinsurance after the Part B deductible. Medicare does not cover round-the-clock home care or personal care alone. [13]

A supplemental plan may help with qualifying services beyond those benefits. Compare it to your actual Medicare or Medicare Advantage coverage.

Age 55 and older

Make a recovery plan before retirement

At 55, consider who would help after surgery or illness, what paid help would cost locally, and how recovery expenses would affect household savings. Family availability and proximity matter as much as the policy’s daily limit.

Apply while you can meet underwriting requirements. Compare age-based premium increases, service sublimits and duration with the risk you want to cover. A short-term policy may fund a recovery period but is not unlimited long-term care protection.

Adults 18 and older

Recovery needs can arise before 55

An injury or serious illness can create care needs during working years. Home-care support may help a household coordinate recovery while family members manage jobs and other responsibilities.

ManhattanLife Enhanced starts at 18 and Bankers Fidelity at 18, subject to underwriting and state approval. Heartland starts at 40; Wellabe at 40; GTL commonly at 55. Do not assume every product accepts all adults. [1][4][5][8][11]

Choose around the person, the caregiver and the policy.

Ask about claim triggers such as needing help with two activities of daily living or cognitive impairment; required providers; elimination periods; pre-existing condition exclusions; premium changes; and restoration. Needing help with a single task after surgery may not satisfy the policy’s claim trigger.

Home care videos

Preview your HTML video embeds

Paste up to three iframe or HTML video embeds below. Preview changes stay in this browser only; they do not alter the public site. To publish them for everyone, send Mel’s site editor the embed code or download the updated page and provide it for publication.

Know your hospital status

The “Observation Trap”

Always ask: “Am I admitted as an inpatient, or am I an outpatient under observation?”

What is observation status?

Observation is outpatient hospital monitoring while clinicians decide whether to admit you or discharge you. An overnight stay—even in a regular hospital bed—does not establish inpatient status. Inpatient status requires a doctor’s order and formal hospital admission.

Status affects billing and follow-up care. Outpatient service copayments can add up, but observation is not always more expensive than inpatient care. Ask about your status each day and review the Medicare Outpatient Observation Notice (MOON) if given.

Medicare: inpatient versus outpatient status

Three nights can mean zero inpatient days

Why it matters after discharge

If your entire three-night stay is observation, none of those days count as inpatient days. Observation services can still be covered by Medicare; this does not mean Medicare pays nothing.

Original Medicare usually requires three consecutive inpatient hospital days for skilled nursing facility (SNF) coverage. Observation, emergency-room time and the hospital discharge day do not count. Approved waivers and some Medicare Advantage plans may waive that requirement. A qualifying stay alone does not guarantee SNF coverage; daily skilled care and other conditions must also be met.

Medicare: skilled nursing facility eligibility

Historical perspective: more than 600,000 stays.

A 2013 HHS Inspector General report analyzing 2012 claims found more than 600,000 hospital stays lasting at least three nights that did not qualify beneficiaries for SNF services. This is a historical count of stays, not a 2015 or current count of patients denied all rehabilitation.

HHS OIG: observation and short inpatient stays

Inpatient versus observation stays: watch & learn

Videos provided by Mel Gambrell. The written coverage guidance uses the official Medicare sources checked October 4, 2026. Older videos may contain historical costs or rules; current plan terms and Medicare rules govern.

Medicare rehabilitation: three different settings

“Rehab” can describe skilled nursing care, an inpatient rehabilitation facility, or outpatient therapy. Their eligibility rules and cost structures differ.

Care settingCoverage & eligibility2026 Original Medicare cost framework
Skilled nursing facility (SNF)Part A; usual three-day qualifying inpatient stay plus daily skilled-care requirements. Up to 100 covered days per benefit period when eligible.Days 1–20: $0 daily after any applicable Part A deductible; days 21–100: $217/day; after day 100: all costs. No second Part A deductible if already paid in the same benefit period.
Inpatient rehabilitation facility (IRF)Part A facility care; provider certifies intensive rehabilitation, continued medical supervision and coordinated care. Part B covers doctors’ services. The SNF three-day rule is not a blanket requirement for IRF care.Part A: $1,736 deductible per benefit period; days 1–60: $0 daily afterward; days 61–90: $434/day; lifetime reserve days: $868/day, up to 60 lifetime days. All costs after covered days are exhausted.
Outpatient rehabilitationPart B covers medically necessary physical therapy, occupational therapy and speech-language pathology. No blanket prior three-day inpatient stay requirement.Generally 20% of the Medicare-approved amount after the Part B deductible; hospital outpatient copayments can apply. Medicare Advantage costs and rules vary.

The $0 daily figures do not mean all services are free. Doctor services, additional charges and other coverage can affect your total. Medigap may help with certain Original Medicare cost sharing; it cannot be used with Medicare Advantage. Coverage continues only while eligibility requirements are met.

Official sources: SNF care · Inpatient rehabilitation · Physical therapy · Occupational therapy · Speech-language pathology. Additional reading: Healthline’s rehabilitation overview. Use current Medicare figures above rather than the article’s historical 2025 amounts.

The “Observation Trap” is another reason to consider a short-term home healthcare plan.

It may help pay qualifying care at home following illness or injury. It does not change hospital billing status, guarantee SNF coverage, or automatically pay for observation stays. Check the policy’s care triggers, provider rules and limits.

Remember: “Am I admitted as an inpatient, or am I an outpatient under observation?”

Plan brochures & downloads

Open the consumer materials for each plan below. State examples, older forms and plan versions are labeled; current policy terms and state availability govern.

MedMutual Protect

Specified Disease SD-3 · consumer overview (03/24; newer training differs)

Open plan brochure

Sources & verification notes

Expanded November 5, 2026 for MedMutual, Aetna and HealthSpring; original carrier review October 4, 2026. Carrier-authored materials are linked below, including brochures hosted by distributors. State examples and legacy materials are labeled. Missing details have been left unverified rather than filled with assumptions.

  1. MedMutual HHC-6 carrier overview — unit schedules cross-checked with supplied training, pp. 12–38; not a public training download.
  2. MedMutual SD-3 carrier overview — selected benefit designs cross-checked with June 2026 training, slides 7–11.
  3. Aetna Home Care Plus — supplied North Carolina PDF
  4. Aetna Recovery Care Choice — supplied North Carolina PDF
  5. HealthSpring Choice — carrier-authored consumer PDF, WV example
  6. GTL — Current carrier page; ages vary by state
  7. GTL brochure — Rev. 9/25; pp. 3–5
  8. ManhattanLife Enhanced — HHCE-BRF_0726; current Enhanced brochure
  9. ManhattanLife guide — AGT-HHC 0926; benefit and eligibility verification
  10. Heartland — Current carrier page
  11. Heartland brochure — Illinois HNB-94024IL; Rev. 7/23; state example
  12. Guardian Care Plus — Legacy SLAC-HHC-2015-BR-v2; supplied 2020 file
  13. Wellabe — Current carrier page; Medico Insurance Company
  14. Wellabe guide — pp. 12–13; underwriting-based options
  15. Wellabe brochure — Rev. 06/24; restoration footnote 8
  16. Bankers Fidelity brochure — B 21702 SB2024 (1-26); supplied brochure
  17. Bankers Fidelity — Current carrier page; restoration varies by state
  18. Medicare — Official home health coverage rules
  19. Medicare hospital status — Checked October 4, 2026
  20. Medicare skilled nursing facility care — Checked October 4, 2026
  21. Medicare inpatient rehabilitation — Checked October 4, 2026
  22. HHS OIG historical observation report (2012 claims) — Checked October 4, 2026
  23. Medicare outpatient physical therapy — Checked October 4, 2026
Items still requiring current state-policy verification

Guardian Care Plus issue ages, benefit days and current sale status; observation eligibility for the home-care hospital riders; informal-care coverage outside GTL and ManhattanLife; Wellabe, Bankers Fidelity, Aetna Home Care rider and HealthSpring written restoration documentation; restoration counts and lifetime limits where not stated. A brochure summary cannot resolve these contract questions.

This comparison is educational and is not an insurance contract, individualized advice, or a guarantee of payment. Availability, underwriting, riders, premiums and benefits vary by state and policy form. Current issued policy and rider terms control. These limited-benefit products supplement other coverage and do not replace major medical insurance, Medicare or comprehensive long-term care insurance. No carrier endorsement is implied.

Did you know Tips!

Tip #1

Use prescription cash back to help offset your premium

Several short-term home healthcare recovery plans offer cash benefits for eligible medically prescribed drugs. Clients can use those benefits to help offset the effective cost of their plan. The full premium is still paid separately.

Illustrative example supplied by Mel: Female, age 80, with a monthly premium of $107.75; up to $500 per eligible home-care day; a calculated $180,000 ceiling over 360 covered days; and a $600 maximum annual prescription benefit. At the daily cap, 30 eligible days would total $15,000—this is an illustration, not a separately verified monthly allowance. Service sublimits and qualifying-care requirements apply.

If eligible prescriptions generate $50 in cash benefits each month, the effective monthly cost is $107.75 − $50 = $57.75. The $600 annual limit averages $50 per month.

Assume the premium drafts on the first of the month. You submit for the prescription cash back benefit. You could then receive the cash back check in the mail within 5 to 7 business days under normal circumstances.

Example Quote: A female age 80 is $107.75 per month. A female age 25 is just $40.45 per month. A female age 55 is also just $40.45 per month. Example quotes as of November 2026!

Use eligible prescription cash back to help offset the monthly price.

As used in this example: Female age 80 monthly cost is $107.75 − $50 (potential monthly medication cash back) = $57.75 as the net cost!

Tip #2

Put money you don’t need to work

Some retirees have $7,000–$12,000 in the bank that they do not need for current spending or emergencies. This strategy assumes you can commit those funds for the selected term while keeping enough accessible savings.

Consider an illustrative $12,000 deposit into a 10-year MYGA—Multi-Year Guaranteed Annuity—at an assumed 6% guaranteed annual rate. If the contract permits annual withdrawal of the full credited interest without charges or reducing that rate, $12,000 × 6% = $720 per year, or a $60 monthly equivalent before taxes.

Withdrawing only the annual credited interest could leave the original $12,000 principal in the contract under those assumptions. The 6% rate is hypothetical, not a current offer. Verify minimum deposits, the actual guarantee period, first-year access, interest-withdrawal rights, surrender charges and any market-value adjustment. Guarantees depend on the insurer’s claims-paying ability.

Interest withdrawn is generally subject to income tax; early distributions before age 59½ may also incur a federal tax penalty. Net money available for premiums may therefore be less than $720.

Combine the two approaches

Eligible prescription cash benefits and permitted MYGA interest withdrawals could help cover part or all of the premium. In these assumptions, $600 annual Rx benefits plus $720 gross annual interest equals the equivalent of $110 per month in cash back benefits combined with using the interest only from the MYGA. The monthly premium for the plan used in this hypothetical example is just $107.75 per month.

In this example, this combo approach is enough to account for the plan’s monthly premium. This example shows the difference before taxes, charges or other costs—not a guaranteed result. Annuity interest may be available annually rather than monthly.

Tip #3

Sign up for two!

Mel’s experience: “I personally have two short-term home recovery care plans.”

Some home recovery plans pay independently of other insurance, making it possible to stack coverage. If both policies permit it and you satisfy each plan’s benefit definitions, you may receive benefits from both at the same time. Confirm coordination provisions, underwriting limits and whether each pays fixed cash or reimburses eligible expenses.

With some traditional long-term care premiums reaching $250–$750 per month, short-term home care plans may be less expensive and easier to combine.

Remember! Qualifying cash benefits are paid directly to YOU!

The check will have your name on it. We don’t send this to your doctor, hospital or pharmacy! These payments come directly to you. The excess you don’t spend stays in your bank account. Take a vacation with it if you like, use it for home modifications to adjust for your new health state. Use the excess on whatever you want.

Annuity references: Investor.gov · IRS Publication 575.